16 IAS (1982) yet to get Secretary post: 12 posted in GoI & 04 in state



Amid the ongoing empanelment (secretary rank) of 1983 batch IAS officers, curiousity has heightened as to the number of officers yet to be posted as Secretary in Govt of India as well as about the number of officers expected to be empaneled as Secretary.

Going by the numbers altogether 16 officers are yet to be appointed as Secretary in Govt of India, of which four are already posted in cadre states and some of them may not like to move to the centre.

The officers who are posted at the Centre and waiting eagerly for their turn to get Secretary’s berth are Jai Priye Prakash (AM), posted as Spl Secretary, Cabinet Secretariat; Amarjit Singh (GJ), Spl Secretary, Water Resources & Ganga Rejuvenation; Ajay Narayan Jha (MN)- Spl Secretary, Dept of Financial Services; Ms Leena Nair (TN), Chairman, MPEDA (Min of Commerce & Industries); Dinesh Singh (UP), Spl Secretary, Statistics & Program Implementation; Prabhas Kr Jha (UP), Spl Secretary & FA, Dept of Consumer Affairs; Ms M Sathiyavathy (UT), DG, DGCA; Raghav Chandra (MP), NHAI Chairman and Susheel Kumar (UP), Spl Secretary, Environment, Forest & Climate Change.

A small number of four officers are currently posted in their cadre state: Ajay Mittal (HP), D S Dhesi (HY), Ms G Lata Krishna Rao (KN) and T Y Das (AM).

In addition, at least five more officers are waiting in the wings to be empaneled as Secretary which will take place along with 1983 batch IAS officers.


Leave a Reply