Appointment of CBI Director delayed: Additional charge to Dutta likely?

Selection of CBI Director, CBI
Indianmandarins has reliably learnt that though the meeting for the selection of next CBI Director is scheduled for 26th November 2016, it appears unlikely to take place. Reportedly, the panel comprising three candidates has not been made as yet which clearly indicates that the Govt may have a plan to give the additional charge to Special Director CBI Rupak Kumar Dutta for another three months or till the appointment of regular incumbent. The outgoing CBI Director Anil Sinha (IPS:1979:BH) will complete his tenure on December 02, 2016.
Indianmandarins had on 01st November 2016 reported that out of approx 38 eligible candidates, six IPS officers belonging to 1979, 1980 & 1981 batch were shortlisted: Krishna Chaudhary (IPS:1979:BH); Alok Kumar Verma (IPS:1979:UT); Ms Archana Ramasundaram (IPS:1980:TN); Rupak Dutta (IPS:1981:KN); Ms Meeran C Borwankar (IPS:1981:MH) and Satish Chandra Mathur (IPS:1981:MH).
Under the Lokpal Act, a selection committee, headed by the Prime Minister and comprising the leader of the single largest Opposition party and the Chief Justice of India or a Supreme Court judge nominated by him as a member, appoints the CBI Director.

CBI Director: Will it be 1979 batch Vs 1979 batch (03 November 2016)

 Six shortlisted for Director, CBI (01 November 2016)


Leave a Reply