CIC attains full-strength (1+10); Julka, Sinha & Bhattacharya are Member CIC


CIC Appointment

With the appointment orders of three former bureaucrats as Member, country’s transparency watchdog CIC attains full strength. The appointment of former I&B Secretary Bimal Julka (Rtd IAS:1979:MP), former Staff Selection Commission Chairman Amitava Bhattacharya (Rtd IAS:1980:GJ) and former Special Director IB, Divya Prakash Sinha (Rtd IPS:1979:MT) has been done to keep the Supreme Court deadline which had earlier scolded the government for not filling the vacancies for a long time.

CIC is currently headed by CIC R K Mathur and seven members whereas three newly appointed members of CIC will be administered oath by the Chief Information Commissioner shortly after which they will take charge as Member CIC.

Their selection was done by a panel headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The decision to drop Mr Bassi’s candidature was prompted by stiff opposition of Congress Lok Sabha leader Mallikarjun Kharge, a member of the panel.


Leave a Reply