Countdown begins over selection of RPF DG: Bhagat or Ms Borwankar?



With only two days left for selection and announcement, speculations have intensified about the next RPF DG. On February 29, the current DG of Railway Protection Force R R Verma (IPS:1978:BH) will demit the office on retirement.
A panel comprising two names (S K Bhagat and Ms Meeran C Borwankar) is already made. Surendra Kumar Bhagat (IPS:1982:UD) is serving at the Centre as ADG, CRPF (J&K Sector) whereas Ms Meeran C Borwankar (IPS:1981:MH) is serving in  Maharashtra, her cadre state.
Indianmandarins has learnt that the Maharashtra CM is keen on retaining Ms Borwankar in the state as he wishes her to appoint her as first Maharashtra woman DGP on August 01, 2016 following the retirement of Praveen Dixit (IPS:1977:MH) on July 31. On the other hand S K Bhagat’s name is also there on the panel for the post of DG, BPR&D. This has left everyone guessing as to who would succeed R R Verma on March 1.

Leave a Reply