Delhi CS; MHA says ‘No’ for Negi, 03 IAS officers join race


Delhi CS & MHA

‘Indianmandarins’ has reliably learnt that Delhi CM’s proposal for appointing Ramesh Negi (IAS:1984:UT) as Delhi Chief secretary has been turned down by the MHA for reasons. Negi, the incumbent CS of Arunachal Pradesh and former DJB CEO seems to be out from the race.

Arvind Kejriwal has now three choices to name as successor to the outgoing Chief Secretary, D M Spolia who is retiring today. Three names in contention are; (1) Anand Prakesh (IAS:1979:UT), Chief Secretary, Andman & Nicobar (2) Former CS of Delhi S K Srivastava (IAS:1980:UT) and (3) Ms Naini Jayaseelan (IAS:1980:UT), the former Member Secy (AS), National Capital Region Planning Board.

Being the cadre controlling authority of UT cadre MHA is not convinced on Ramesh Negi’s name for CS as it would superceed 13 senior officers. Reportedly, MHA is also unwilling as Negi has not been empanelled as Additional Secretary besides a CBI enquiry is also pending against him.


Leave a Reply