Elections for five assemblies announced



Election Commission

The Election Commission on Friday announced the schedule for Assembly polls in four states — West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam and for Union Territory Puducherry. The terms of the five Assemblies are ending in April and May.

In West Bengal, elections will be held in six phases. The first phase will be held on April 4 and 11. Voting for the remaining phases will be conducted on April 17, 21, 25, 30 and May 5.

Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry will go to polls on May 16.

Counting of votes will be held on May 19. The Election Commission expects to complete the poll process by May 21.

Over 17 crore voters will exercise their franchise in 824 constituencies.


Leave a Reply