ICHR to get 11 new members shortly




Ministry of HRD, being the final clearance authority for ICHR appointments, is expected to appoint 11 historians as ICHR members against the positions which had fallen vacant on December 22, 2014.

ICHR Chief Sudarshan Rao is reported to have recommended 18 names to the Ministry of HRD which also include office bearers of the RSS’ historians network Akhil Bharatiya Itihas Sankalan Yojana (ABISY) namely; Narayan Rao (Vedic scholar & ABISY vice-president), Nikhiles Guha who has published works on Bharatiya Jana Sangh founder Shyama Prasad Mookerjee. Guha was denied an extension in service during UPA-I in 2007 and Ishwar Sharan Vishwakarma (all-India general secretary of ABISY).

Historians who may be appointed as ICHR Member are; Sugam Anand (Ambedkar University, Agra), RS Agrawal (Ch Charan Singh University, Meerut), Suman Jain (BHU), Baidhyanath Labh (Jammu Univ) ), Rahman Ali & K Ratnam (historians from MP).


Leave a Reply