Indian Railways signed two MoUs with Swiss Confederation

Indian Railway, Ministry of Railway, Suresh Prabhu, Narendra Modi, Railway Ministry

In the course of the visit of President of Swiss Confederation, Ms Doris Leuthard to India on August 31, 2017, two MoUs have been signed between Ministry of Railway and Swiss Confederation.

The first agreement signed is a follow up on bilateral cooperation in rail sector discussed in July 2016. This was signed in the presence of PM Modi and President of the Swiss Confederation, Ms Doris Leuthard by Ashwani Lohani, Chairman Railway Board and Dr. Andreas Baum, Swiss Ambassador to India. This agreement aims at keeping cooperation in fields such as EMU and train sets, freight and passenger cars, tilting trains, train scheduling and operation improvement, railway electrification equipments, traction rolling stocks, multimodal transport, tunneling technology, railway stations modernisation, trains scheduling and operation improvement and traction propulsion equipments

The second MoU was signed between Konkan Railway Corporation Limited (KRCL) and Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich. This was signed by Sanjay Gupta, CMD/KRCL, and Prof. Sarah Springman, Rector, ETH Zurich. This will help Konkan Railway in establishing the George Fernandes Institute of Tunnel Technology (GFITT) at Goa, especially for assimilation and dissemination of knowledge in the field of tunneling, the officials said.


Leave a Reply