ITDC’s posts of MD and Chairperson to be merged shortly



ITDC, presently governed through MD & Chairperson, is expected get its new CMD shortly. Modi government, reportedly, has decided to merge the posts. After Sameer Sharma (IAS:1985:AP) laterally shifted to the Department of Urban Development the additional charge of MD, ITDC was handed over to Girish Shankar (IAS:1982:BH), Additional Secretary (Tourism).

Interestingly, the post of CMD was made split into MD & Chairperson in June 2012 by the UPA-II government to appoint Shankarsinh Vaghela as ITDC Chairperson. The objective was to keep him away from Gujarat politics ahead of Assembly elections in the state.

The proposal for merger of the two posts (MD & Chairperson) has, reportedly, been moved or may shortly be moved for cabinet approval.


Leave a Reply