PM clears the file: 11 IFS officers (1982) get Secretary rank (GoI)


7 Race Course

‘Indianmandarins’ reliably learns that Prime Minister has cleared secretary-rank empanelment of 1982 batch officers. So far as 11 officers have been empanelled to hold Secretary rank post in Government of India namely; Preeti Saran (Ambassador of India to Vietnam), Pankaj Saran(IHC, Bangladesh), TCA Raghavan (IHC, Islamabad), Manjeev Puri (Deputy PR to UN), Amar Sinha (India’s Ambassador to Afghanistan), Sunil Kumar Lal (Ambassador of India to the Federative Republic of Brazil). In addition five more officers appear on the empanelment list.

The empanelment of these officers enables them to take their Ambassadorial assignment in the rank of Secretary. Accordingly; Pankaj Saran will succeed P S Raghavan as Ambassador of India in Moscow on January 01 and Amar Sinha will replace Anil Wadhwa as Secretary (East), shortly. TCA Raghavan, scheduled to superannuate on December 31 this year, will be succeed by Gautam Bambawale as India’s High Commissioner to Pakistan.


Leave a Reply