Review empanelment of 1984 & 85 batch IAS soon: 34 names under consideration afresh

Secretary empanelment, Review empanelment, 1984 batch IAS, 1985 batch IAS, Pratyush Sinha Committee
Secretary empanelment, Review empanelment, 1984 batch IAS, 1985 batch IAS, Pratyush Sinha Committee
Indianmandarins has reliably learnt that the Review Committee headed by former CVC Pratyush Sinha (IAS:1969:BH)  on 14 September sat together to examine the eligibility of 1985 batch IAS officers for Secretary-level empanelment in Govt of India. Reportedly, the committee on 04 September had a brain-storming session on empanelment of 1984 batch IAS officers. It is learnt that the NaMo administration had handed over a list of altogether 70 names to consider for the same of which approx 34 names are being considered afresh for empanelment.
Many IAS officers who failed to figure on the first list (issued on May 05, 2017) are keenly awaiting the result of review empanelment and many others too have become hopeful who though figured on the first list but under the category of Secretary equivalent.
It may be recalled that the original strength of the 1984 and 1985 batch of IAS were 123 and 146 respectively. Initially, 53 and 64 names were considered for empanelment from 1984 and 1985 batches.
The ACC had on 05 May this year cleared a list of empanelment – in which 17 were marked for Secretary or Secretary Equivalent and 15 for  Secretary Equivalent from the 1984 batch. Similarly, from the 1985 batch, 20 were empanelled as Secretary or Secretary Equivalent and 21 made it as Secretary Equivalent.
 The review committee is made up of former CVC Pratyush Sinha (IAS:1969:BH) who also headed the Committee for dividing IAS, IPS and other all India service officers between Telangana and Andhra Pradesh states; former Secretary, Department of Disinvestment A K Jain (IAS:1970:UP); former Finance Secretary Ms Sushma Nath (IAS:1974:MP) who is currently on the ONGC Board; former Finance Secretary R P Wattal (IAS:1978:AP); and former Petroleum Secretary and full-time Member of 7th Pay Commission Vivek Ray (IAS:1978:UT).
Of course, Dr. P K Mishra may take the penultimate call before the matter gets PM’s approval Cabinet Secretary P K Sinha may also have a big role to play.

Leave a Reply