S Jaishankar; first Foreign Secy to mark Space Commission as Member


S Jaishankar IFS FS 1977

The recently appointed Foreign Secretary, S Jaishankar (IFS:1977) has been inducted into Space Commission; the highest policy making body for space exploration in India. The 10 member body is headed by A S Kiran Kumar, the newly appointed Chairman of ISRO.

Apart from independent space scientist and experts as scientific members the body has four regular members; Nripendra Mishra (PPS to PM), Ajit Kr Seth (Cabinet Secretary), Ajit Doval (NSA) and R P Watal (IAS:78:AP) (Secretary, Expenditure).

The Modi Government’s move to include Jaishankar is being seen as the outcome of the increasing strategic and commercial involvement of international community in the Indian space sector. Secondly, PM Modi’s call for developing a satellite for SAARC community is also being seen behind the move.


Leave a Reply