SC collegium seeks to fill vacant posts

Attorney General, K K Venugopal, CJI, Dipak Misra, Supreme Court,  Justices Jasti Chelameswar, Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justice Madan B. Lokur, Justice Kurian Joseph
supreme court
Tthe Supreme Court collegium is learnt to have begun the process of filling vacant posts in the apex court, even as the SC  remains locked in a bitter struggle with the Narendra Modi government over delay in appointments to the higher judiciary and a new Memorandum of Procedure (MoP),
Indianmandarins has learnt that the names of seven high court chief justices were discussed at a recent meeting of the collegium. Only four of the five members attended the meeting. The discussed names were later “circulated” to the fifth member, Justice Jasti Chelameswar who has taken a principled stand not to attend these collegium meetings.
Sources said the four members of the collegium favoured the elevation of Bombay High Court Chief Justice Manjula Chellur, Chattisgarh High Court Chief Justice Deepak Gupta, Jammu & Kashmir High Court Chief Justice N N Paul Vasanthakumar, Gujarat High Court Chief Justice R Subhash Reddy, Rajasthan High Court Chief Justice Navin Sinha, Himachal Pradesh High Court Chief Justice Ahmed Mir and Uttarakhand HC CJ K M Joseph to the Supreme Court.
However, Justice Chelameswar is learnt to have objected to at least one name on the list, and he is reported to have conveyed his views in writing to the remaining members of the collegium.
No final decision has been taken on the names, it is learnt.

Leave a Reply