Selection of CBI Chief; first crucial day today


24 November, the first day of Winter Session of Parliament, is going to be the first crucial day in the final round of selection of new Director, CBI. The appointment of successor of Ranjit Sinha needs amendment in the Delhi Special Police Establishment Act allowing the leader of single largest party in opposition in Lok Sabha to be part of the collegium in place of Leader of Opposition.

As per the list of the business Jitendra Singh, MoS for Personnel, will introduce the amendment bill in Lok Sabha. Once passed in Lok Sabha the bill will be introduced in Rajya Sabha on next day. Having sanction of President Dr Pranab Mukherjee the amended Act would provide the alternative of Leader of Opposition.

The meeting of selection committee (CJI & leader of the largest party in Lok sabha), headed by PM Narendra Modi, is then expected to be on November 27 or 28 to select the new CBI Director. Ranjit Sinha, the incumbent chief of CBI, will complete the fixed tenure of two years on December 02.

The names for next CBI Chief in the reckoning are; Prakash Mishra (IPS: 1977: OR), Omendra Bharadwaj (IPS: 1977: RJ), Abhayanand (IPS: 1977: BH), Anil Kumar Sinha (IPS: 1979: BH), Sharad Kumar (IPS: 1979: HY), Krishna Chaudhary (IPS: 1979: BH), Arup Patnaik (IPS: 1979: MH).



Leave a Reply