Sharma, Marwah & K K will be NDMA Members



The revamped NDMA is all set to have three members (Secretary rank) having professional track-record and expertise in disaster management. They are; Lt Gen (Rtd) N C Marwah, D N Sharma and Kamal Kishore. As many as 82 applicants were in the race for the posts. Formal order regarding these appointments is expected shortly.

D N Sharma served as Director of Health, Safety and Environment Group at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre whereas Kamal Kishore had served as seasoned disaster reduction expert at UNDP as adviser. Sharma has been with NDMA for several years drafting guidelines for safety in radiation- related areas.

PM Naredra Modi had made his intents clear that he wanted NDMA to have expert professionals to for disaster management. As against previous patterns and conventions Modi did not want NDMA to be seen as a “parking lot” for politicians and retired bureaucrats.

PM Narendra Modi is the ex-officio chairperson of National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA). The last NDMA had a Vice-Chairman with the rank of Union Cabinet Minister and nine other members. This time, the government has decided to appoint only four members, besides a Vice-Chairman.


Leave a Reply