Six shortlisted for Director, CBI

 Selection of CBI Director, CBI
Indianmandarins has reliably learnt that out of 38 eligible applicants, six are reported to have been shortlisted for the coveted post of Director CBI. As expected, none from the 1982 batch found a place on the list. DG rank IPS officers belonging to 1979, 1980 & 1981 batches have been shortlisted.
Among those shortlisted are Krishna Chaudhary (IPS:1979:BH), DG, Indo-Tibetan Police; Alok Kumar Verma (IPS:1979:UT), Delhi Police Commissioner; Ms Archana Ramasundaram (IPS:1980:TN), DG, Sashastra Seema Bal; Rupak Dutta (IPS:1981:KN), Special Director, CBI; Ms Meeran C Borwankar (IPS:1981:MH), DG, Bureau of Police Research & Development; and Satish Chandra Mathur (IPS:1981:MH), DGP, Maharashtra.
With a little over a month left to select and appoint a successor to CBI Director Anil Kumar Sinha (IPS:1979:BH) whose tenure ends on 02 December this year, the selection process seems to be on its last legs.
DOPT had begun the process in the last week of June by seeking names of eligible IPS officers from the Home Ministry. Out of about 50 applicants, 39 were screened on the basis of their experience and integrity in investigating anti-corruption cases.
Under the Lokpal Act, a selection committee, headed by the Prime Minister and comprising the leader of the single largest Opposition party and the Chief Justice of India or a Supreme Court judge nominated by him as a member, appoints the CBI Director.

Leave a Reply