Umang Narula succeeds Lalit K Panwar as CMD, ITDC



As per the orders issued by DOPT on April 01 Umang Narula (IAS:JK:1989) replaces Dr Sameer Sharma as CMD, ITDC. But the new development has brought-in another interesting facet as well.

The post of CMD was split into two (Chairperson + MD) by UPA-II Government on June 2012. The arrangement was, reportedly, made to accommodate Shankar Sinh Vaghela as Chairman so that he could be kept out of Gujarat politics during Assembly elections 2012.

In fact prior to Narula’s appointment Lalit K Panwar (IAS:RJ:1979) was the last CMD of ITDC who is presently heading the country’s Tourism sector as Union Tourism Secretary.

Though Dr Sameer Sharma (IAS:AP:1985) was appointed to head ITDC but in the position of MD whereas the position of Chairman ITDC was held by Girish Shankar (IAS:BH:1982) as additional charge. After Dr Sameer Sharma appointed as JS, MoUD the post of MD too was handed over to Girish Shankar as additional charge.

‘Indianmandarins’ had anticipated in its report on January 22, 2015 that the proposal for merger of the two positions (MD & Chairman) had been moved for cabinet approval.

The appointment of Umang Narula as CMD, ITDC has now made is clear that Modi Government has restored the position as it was in June 2012.

ITDC now has a full-fledged CMD in Umang Narula.





Leave a Reply