1985 batch IPS officers find themselves in a game of musical chairs

IPS, DG Empanelment, DG Rank IPS, ADG, RAW, Information and Broadcasting Ministry, Central Police Organisation, NATGRID CEO, Ashok Kumar Patnaik IPS, NSG Chief, S P Singh IPS, BSF DG, KK Sharma IPS, RPF DG, Dharmendra Kumar IPS, ITBP DG, R K Pachnanda IPS, NHRC DG, Gurbachan Singh IPS

For many IPS officers, the dream to become a DG has turned into a game of musical chairs. Not only was there no DG empanelment in 2017, even the 1985 batch officers looking forward to DG empanelment in the next couple of weeks are fraught with apprehensions in view of the gap between the available number of DG rank posts and the number of empanelled candidates.

Empanelment is a regular process which goes on in Govt of India throughout the year every year. But when it comes to the empanelment of IPS officers to hold ADG & DG rank posts at Centre, it sets off and triggers apprehension and speculations primarily because the avenues for encadred-posts for IPS officers are limited at the top at Centre.

It is commonly understood that the many 1985 batch IPS officers may face trouble in getting the DG rank post in Govt of India post-DG-Empanelment which may take place in the next couple of weeks. However, it is pointed out that there may not be any shortage of DG rank posts in the beginning because there will be no gap between the number of DG rank posts and the number of eligible/empaneled officers from the 1985 batch.

Altogether only 09 IPS officers from the batch are posted at the center who may be empaneled as DG in Govt of India. Of 09 officers, 04 are serving in IB & RAW whereas only 05 officers will remain in the race for posting in Central Police Organisations.

Against the initial requirement of five DG rank posts, five DG rank IPS officers may be clearing the deck for their juniors. NSG Chief S P Singh (IPS:1983: RJ) is retiring this month whereas BSF DG KK Sharma (IPS:1982: RJ) will retire in September. In October, RPF DG Dharmendra Kumar (IPS:1984: UT) and ITBP DG R K Pachnanda (IPS:1984: WB) will retire.

Later in December this year, NHRC DG Gurbachan Singh (IPS:1984:OR) and NATGRID CEO Ashok Kumar Patnaik (IPS:1983: GJ) may create avenues for two more IPS officer, though the NATGRID CEO post is not encadred for IPS.


Leave a Reply