12 CBI officers including 03 Jt Dir to get President’s Police Medal on Nov 18


CBI Pic President's Police Medal- Edited Pic

As many as 12 CBI officers including three IPS officers of Jt Director rank will be conferred President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service on November 18. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will present the medals to the officers at a function in Vigyan Bhawan.

Three Jt Directors whose names are doing the round for the medals are A K Sharma (IPS:1987:GJ), Ms Nina Singh (IPS:1989:RJ) and Rajiv Sharma (IPS:1990:RJ).

At the same venue, the PM will also inaugurate the 6th Global Focal Point Conference on Asset Recovery and the 21st Conference of CBI and State Anti Corruption Bureaus/Vigilance Bureaus. Secretary General of INTERPOL Jurgen Stock will also address the conference.

Launched on 19th January, 2009, the Global Focal Point is a partnership between StAR and INTERPOL which was created to promote and increase the exchange of corruption data among law enforcement agencies and anti-corruption entities worldwide.  StAR is a partnership between UNODC and World Bank. ‘Focal Points’ are anti-corruption practitioners registered with the project who form an international network of experts.  The objective of this initiative and its corollary tool Global Focal Point Platform (GFPP) is to respond to concerns of asset freezing, seizing, confiscating and recovering stolen assets.  As on date, a total of 214 national investigators and prosecutors have been nominated as Focal points.

The theme of the 6th Global Focal Point Conference is “Asset Recovery in international perspective”.  It is being attended by over 100 delegates from 50 countries from five continents.


Leave a Reply