15 scholars screened as JNU VC




The search-cum-selection committee for identifying the new vice-chancellor for Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) has screened 15 candidates comprising JNU professors and incumbent vice chancellors of different institutions. The shortlisted candidates may be interviewed by end-December. The present JNU Vice-Chancellor (V-C), noted scientist Professor Sudhir Kumar Sopory, will complete his term in January 2016.
The search-cum-selection committee is headed by former Banaras Hindu University VC and the current director of the National Assessment and Accreditation Council Dhirendra Pal Singh The two others on the search-cum-selection committee are former Indian Space Research Organisation chief K Radhakrishnan and former diplomat Ashok Sen.
Among the shortlisted candidates are current chairperson of IIAS in Shimla Chandrakala Padia, V-C of Bilaspur University Gauri Dutt Sharma, and Rama Shankar Dubey who heads the Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University in Bihar.
IIM-Ahmedabad professor Anil Kumar Gupta, Padma Shri Virender Singh Chauhan, who is a leading researcher in malaria, and Yogesh Kumar Tyagi, dean of the law faculty at South Asian University, are also said to be in the race.
Five professors from within the JNU have also been invited for the interview on December 30. Former dean of students Vinod Kumar Jain, Uttam K Pati and Rakesh Bhatnagar, both from the School of Biotechnology, R N K Bamezai, a professor of human genetics attached with the School of Life Sciences, and Ramakrishna Ramaswamy from the School of Physical Sciences are on the shortlist.
Both Tyagi and Bamezai are also among the frontrunners for another coveted post, vice chancellorship of Delhi University.



Leave a Reply