All you wanted to know about NTPC CMD interview

Of the nine short-listed candidates who were interviewed on December 21 for the post of NTPC CMD, a panel of three names was finally prepared and handed over to Dr P K Mishra (Additional PS to PM) for PM’s decision.
The three chosen ones are said to be Praveer Sinha (MD & CEO of Tata Power Delhi Distribution), Aman Kumar Singh (former IRS officer & Principal Secretary to Chhattisgarh CM) and Gurdeep Singh (MD, Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Ltd). If sources are to believed neither an IAS officer nor an internal candidate made it through the last post.
The Search-cum-selection Committee had met on November 23 to screen applications. As many as nine candidates were short-listed for the final interview which took place on December 21. Nine short-listed candidates included Rajiv Sharma (CMD, REC), Praveer Sinha (MD & CEO of Tata Power), Alok Tandon (IAS:1986:UP, JS Banking), Tarun Kapoor (IAS:1987:UP, JS New & Renewable Energy), Aman Singh (PS to Chhattisgarh CM) Gurdeep Singh (MD, GSECL). It also included three internal candidates Kulamani Biswal (Director- Tech, NTPC), Saptarshi Roy (ED, NTPC) and A K Gupta (ED, NTPC).
Following the retirement of previous CMD, Dr Arup Roy Choudhary, who functioned for five years from September 01, 2010 till August 31, 2015, A K Jha (Director- Tech) was appointed as interim CMD on August 3. Jha is still officiating as CMD.

Weblink: (December 15, 2015)

Weblink: (December 11, 2015)

Weblink: (November 30)

Weblink: (November 28)


Leave a Reply