Deepak Gupta is new Chairman, UPSC

Deepak Gupta (Rtd IAS: JH)
Deepak Gupta (Rtd IAS: JH)
               Deepak Gupta (Rtd IAS: JH)

Departing from the tradition of appointing the senior most member of UPSC as its chairman Narendra Modi Government appointed Deepak Gupta (retired IAS of Jharkhand cadre) as its next chairman. Rajni Razdan, the incumbent Chairman, completed her tenure on Saturday. Deepak Gupta is the younger brother of former Union Home Secretary Madhukar Gupta.

Had the government followed the tradition the turn was supposed for senior most member Alka Sirohi (retired MP cadre IAS officer and former Secretary, DoPT) to be named as UPSC Chairman.

The UPSC is headed by a chairman and 10 members. Besides Alka Sirohi, educationists P Kelimsungla, retd IFS officer Manbir Singh, academician David R Syiemlieh, former CBI Director Amar Pratap Singh, former Navy Vice Chief DK Dewan, ex-Railway Board Chairman Vinay Mittal, and Hem Chandra Gupta, and former IAS Haryana cadre officer Chhatar Singh are members of the Commission.


Leave a Reply