Delhi HC Chief Justice nominates judges for ‘commercial courts’

The Delhi High Court chief justice has nominated five justices to occupy the single-judge benches of the ‘Commercial Division’ with effect from 8 August 2016. The judges selected for the task are Justices S Muralidhar, Hima Kohli, Manmohan Singh, Rajiv Sahai Endlaw and Vibhu Bakhru. These commercial divisions will deal with matters valued at Rs 1 crore and above, while the commercial appellate divisions will deal with appeals arising out of these cases.
Additionally, the ‘Commercial Appellate Division’ has also been constituted with effect from the same date, with four division benches consisting of Chief Justice G. Rohini and Justice Sangita Dhingra Sehgal (DB –I), Justices Indira Banerjee and V Kameshwar Rao (DB-II), Justices Badar Durrez Ahmed and Ashutosh Kumar (DB-III) and Justices Pradeep Nandrajog and Pratibha Rani (DB-IV).
The appointments have been made by virtue of The Commercial Courts, Commercial Division and Commercial Appellate Division of High Courts Act 2015 (the Act), which came into force on 1 January 2016.
The Act was enacted by parliament to establish commercial courts consisting of commercial divisions and commercial appellate divisions to adjudicate on commercial disputes of specified values and matters connected therewith and incidental thereto.
The introduction of these specialised divisions was made with a view to streamlining the civil judicial system and ensure speedy disposal of the large amounts of commercial matters relating to arbitration, insurance, banking, taxation and company law that regularly approach the high courts.
The newly set up Delhi High Court commercial division

Leave a Reply