Eight parliamentary secretaries appointed in Gujarat

Newly elected Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani on Tuesday appointed eight BJP MLAs as Parliamentary Secretaries. This may provoke Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal to cry discrimination, even though he knows that the powers of the Delhi assembly are not similar to normal assemblies.
The MLAs selected as Parliamentary Secretaries are Vasanbhai Ahir (Anja), Ranchhodbhai Desai (Patan), Bharatsinh Dabhi (Kheralu), Shamji Chauhan (Chotila), Jethabhai Solanki (Kodinar), Vibhavariben Dave (Bhavnagar), Jayantibhai Rathva (Pavi-Jetpur) and Babubhai Patel (Ahmedabad).
The MLAs took the oath of office at Swarnim Sankul in Gandhinagar in the presence of ministers and other key officials of the government this evening, an official press release said.
Out of the eight Parliamentary Secretaries, five were appointed by Rupanis predecessor Anandiben Patel in 2014. Those who were retained are Vasanbhai Ahir, Bharatsinh Dabhi, Ranchhodbhai Desai, Shamji Chauhan and Jethabhai Solanki, it said. Three new faces include Vibhavariben Dave, Jayantibhai Rathva, and Babubhai Patel.
It is expected that the CM will allot departments to the secretaries soon.
Parliamentary Secretaries are usually considered as deputy ministers and appointed to help the cabinet ministers in speeding up the work of their respective departments.

Leave a Reply