Five HCs get new Chief Justices, NaMo govt fulfils promises

Supreme Court, Transparency, Collegium

supreme court

The Narendra Modi Govt on Friday clears the appointment of five new Chief Justices to Kerala, Calcutta, Sikkim, Tripura and Manipur High Courts. The senior most judges of these HCs have been elevated as CJs. Accordingly;

  • Justice Girish Chandra Gupta of the Calcutta High Court will be its new Chief Justice.
  • Acting Chief Justice of Kerala High Court, Justice Shantanagoudar Mohan Mallikarjunagouda, has been elevated as its new Chief Justice.
  • Acting Chief Justice of Sikkim High Court, Justice Satish Kumar Agnihotri, has been confirmed as the High Court’s Chief Justice.
  • Justice Tinlianthang Vaiphei and Justice Rakesh Ranjan have been elevated as Chief Justices of Tripura and Manipur High Courts, respectively.

The NaMo Govt had assured a Bench led by Chief Justice of India T.S. Thakur that there is no logjam in filling up of judicial vacancies and appointments in higher judiciary was its ‘topmost priority’.


Leave a Reply