HRD Min appoints Directors for 03 IITs (Ropar, Patna  & Bhubaneshwar)


Smriti Zubin Irani

Finally HRD Ministry became successful in appointing the Directors for IITs which had made the bureaucracy pained and perplexed for over a month.

Pushpak Bhattacharya appointed as Director of IIT, Patna who is presently Professor of Computer Science at IIT Bombay.

IIT Ropar will now be headed by Sarit Kumar Das, presently Professor of Mechanical Engineering at IIT Madras.

And R V Rajkumar finally makes it as new Director of IIT Bhubaneshwar who is presently serving as Professor of Electronics at IIT Kharagpur.

For the three posts as many as 37 candidates had been short-listed who were further interviewed on March 22. One may like to recall that four members (out of nine) of the selection committee did not attend the meeting namely; Anil Kakodkar, M S Anant (former Director, Madras IIT), Lila Poonawala (Chairperson, Tetra Pack India) and H M Nerurkar (Tata Steel).




Leave a Reply