Major bureaucratic reshuffle in UP, Rama Raman indispensable for Noida Authority


Rama Raman, Most powerfull bureaucrat, Most resourceful bureaucrat, Richest IAS officer

Commonly known as the most powerful and resourceful IAS officer in Uttar Pradesh, 1987 batch IAS officer Rama Raman is back in the hot seat of cash-rish Noida Authority again as Chairman. The re-appointment, in the poll-bound state of UP, takes place a month and a half after Raman was transferred to Lucknow.

Among other appointments, Navneet Sehgal (IAS:1988:UP) has been given additional charge of Sports and Youth Welfare, Anita Bhatnagar Jain (IAS:1985:UP) has been appointed Principal Secretary, Dept of Higher Education and Minor Irrigation; Renuka Kumar (IAS:1987:UP) will remain in charge of Dept of Women Welfare; Manoj Kumar Singh (IAS:1988:UP) has been appointed Principal Secretary, Dept of Social Welfare; Mahesh Kumar Gupta (IAS:1987:UP) appointed as Principal Secretary, Dept of  Backward and Handicapped Welfare whereas Jitendra Kumar appointed as Principal Secretary, Secondary Education.

The high court had on July 01, 2016 barred Raman from working as the chairman of all three authorities; Noida, Greater Noida & YEIDA. Further on August 25 the UP Govt had appointed Sanjay Aggarwal (IAS:1984:UP) as Chairman, NOIDA Authority vice Rama Raman after the high court questioned the intent of Akhilesh Govt of allowing one official in control of all key posts in NCR.

In the meanwhile, Aggarwal will continue to serve as Chairman of the Greater Noida authority and YEIDA. Also, he will continue with his additional charge of departments namely, Power, NRI and as Chairman of the Power Corporation.


Leave a Reply