Speculations heighten about next Sebi boss



Speculations have reached a feverish pitch as to who would replace U K Sinha as Sebi chairman. Sinha’s term will end on February 17 and the government may decide about its choice in the next few days.

Among five strong candidates for the post figure SBI chairperson Arundhati Bhattacharya, former Forward Markets Commission Chairman Ramesh Abhishek, former SEBI members Rajiv Aggarwal and M S Sahoo, and IAS officer Thomas Mathew (IAS:1983:KL).

While former Chairman of FMC Abhishek (IAS:1982:BH) is said to have the backing of the Prime Minister’s Office, Bhattacharya enjoys efficient image with fair experience of the domain. Aggarwal has the experience of both FMC and SEBI. Sahoo was highly rated during his stint in SEBI while Mathew has earned kudos for his initiatives as joint secretary, capital markets.


Leave a Reply