Three strong contenders in race for SEBI top post



Indianmandarins has learnt that the search-cum-selection committee (SCSC) is actively examining the suitability of Ramesh Abhishek (IAS:1982:BH), Ms Arundhati Bhattacharya, SBI Chairman, and Rajeev Kumar Agrawal, whole time Member of SEBI, as new Sebi chief. The incumbent, U K Sinha, is due to retire in February, having completed a two-year extension on top of his three-year regular tenure.

Each one of the three is a strong contender in their own right.

Ramesh Abhishek (IAS:1982:BH) has served as Chairman of Forward Market Commission which was recently merged with Sebi. Following the merger, Abhishek was appointed as Performance Management Secretary in the Cabinet Secretariat on October 28 last year and is currently serving in the same position.

Ms Bhattacharya, a dark horse in the race, is considered both competent and honest. She has managed SBI affairs exceedingly well. And in this age of liberty and equality, she has a greater claim to be the next Sebi chief. She was the first female head of SBI, and could well become the first female head of Sebi.

Rajiv Kumar Agrawal is credited with introducing a whole lot of healthy policy framework in the functioning of Sebi and is thus eminently suited to be its boss.


Leave a Reply