CLICK HERE & WATCH: PM confered awards on Civil Services Day

Civil Services Day

Prime Minister, Narendra Modi conferred Awards (on 21 April 2015) to winners of outstanding initiatives in Public Administration for the years 2012–13 and 2013-14. Today he urged civil servants to maintain a positive outlook, convert adversity into opportunity, and strive towards perfection.

A number of outstanding initiatives in Public Administration in three categories – Individual, Team and Organisation – have been selected for the award for the year 2012-13 and 2013-14, from across the country. Under this scheme of awards all officers of Central and State governments, individually or as a Team or as an Organisation, are eligible. The award includes a medal, scroll and a cash amount of Rs.1 lakh. In case of a team, the total award money is Rs.5 lakh subject to a maximum of Rs.1 lakh per person. For an organisation, this is limited to Rs. 5 lakh.

Award winners (Individual, Team and Organisation) are as follows.

PM Excellence award in Public Administration for 2012-13

Dr. Darez Ahmed (Collector, Perambalur) has been awarded for the “Save Girl Child” to prevent foeticide.

Organisation category

DOPT, Govt of Karnataka has been given award for “Sakala: No More Delay”. Award was received by Vandana Gurnani, Resident Commissioner, Govt of Karnataka.

Commiserate of Agriculture (Govt of Maharashtra) has been awarded for “Crops Pest Surveillance & Advisory”. Award received by Prabhakar Deshmukh, Secretary ( EGS, Water Conservation).

The Income Tax Department has been awarded the ‘Prime Minister’s Award for Excellence in Public Administration’ for ‘Easy Tax Compliance through Quality Service’. The award was received by Anita Kapur, (Charmain, CBDT).

‘Best Governance Practice’ award has been given to the Punjab government for its unique citizen-centric initiative to abolish non-statutory affidavits in the state.The award was received by Sarvesh Kaushal ( CS, Dept of Governance & Reforms).

PM Award for Excellence in Public Administration 2013-2014

Kundan Kumar (IAS:2004:BH), PS to MOS for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship has been awarded for initiative “Saving The Womb”.

Vikrant Pandey (Collector & DM, Baruch, Gujarat) has been awarded for initiative of “Emotional Drive Campaign”.

Shahid Iqbal Chowdhary (DM, Kathua, J&K) has received award for “Jashne Jamhuriat Riyasi: Celebration Of Democracy”.

R Prasnna (Director, Health services, Chattishgarh) has been awarded for “Sarguja Phulwari” initiative.

Team Category

4 member team lead by Kanchan Verma (Spl Secy, Dept of Infra & Industrial Dev) has been given award for “Revival of Sasur Khaderi”. Others members are Harish chandra, Kaptan Singh & Sri Arvind Kumar.

5 member team lead by Abhishek Singh, DM, West Tripura for “Achieving Total Financial Inclusion” Other members of this team are Kiran Geete, Pramod Kumar Pal, Manohar Biswas, Pradep Roy.

Team lead by JN Kansotia (Pr Secy, Women & Child Dept, Govt of MP)  for the initiative ” Lado Campaign” to eradicate child marriage. Other members of this team are Kalpana Srivastava, Arvind Singh Bhal, Tini Pandey.

5 member team lead by Ranjeet Kumar, District Collector, Gadhchiraulli, Maharashtra for the initiative “Skill Development Prog” to impart vocational training for tribal youth. Others members of this team are Abhishek Krishna, TSK Reddy, PV Deshmane, Ys Shende.

Organisation category

Erwa Pederu Gram Panchayat (Dist: Pattnam Titta, Keral)  for “Succes Story Of Local Self Government”. The award was received by Rajiv N (Executive Officer).

Gujarat State Electricity Cooperation Ltd has been awarded for the initiative “Canal Top Solar Power Plant Gujarat”. The award was received by Gurdeep Singh, MD, Gujarat State Electricity Cooperation Ltd.



  1. “ Scrap Civil Services Day “

    The Civil Services Day on 21 st April is annual ritual celebrated year-after-year. For the past two years, this has turned into a two-day extravaganza as against one earlier. I attended the first Civil Services Day on April 21, 2006. Attendance was compulsory. Usual rhetorics, sermons by dignitaries. All very de-motivating, uninspiring. Sheer waste of public time, public money with no value addition to their attitudinal change in “rededicating themselves to the cause of citizens and renew their commitment to public service and excellence in work “. 5-star coffee/ tea and lunches have always been the star attractions. A rare opportunity for Junior bureaucrats to introduce themselves and shake hands with the high and mighty. The hungry bureaucrats fell over each other to have their picks. The 2007 event was far more boring. A repeat of 2006. Consider the 2017 event. I saw the video- clipping. PM Modi presented awards to some 500 civil servants this year as against 100 last year.Is this an achievement, a “ quantum leap “.
    What were the shortlisting criteria? Who were members of the Jury? How could all awards be monopolized by the elite Service? Are they the best brains in the country? Was it a fair competition or just the one based on pick-and-choose, arbitrary and discretionary powers. The anguish expressed in these columns by other Services, is justified. A great snub to these less- fortunately- circumstanced services like the IFS, ICAS, IRS, IDAS, Railway services, IFoS etc. Selection of theme,it appears, was a subtle conspiracy to highlight the achievements of the elite Service .
    PMO will have much to explain. Let it upload all facts in public domain including the total expenditure incurred on the mega event.A drain on tax-payers money. Several RTIs may be in the pipeline. Let us introspect : Whether such annual celebration is worth continuing with biases, discrimination against other Services , heavily tilted towards the IAS. Mollycoddling of civil services, should be banned.

    A K Saxena ( A retd civil servant )

Leave a Reply