Who will be the next Chairman of GSTN – Mukherjee or Das?



After Navin Kumar (Retd Bihar cadre IAS officer) demitted office on 29th August following the completion of his tenure that started from 17 May 2013 power corridors have been speculating over the appointment of next Chairman of GSTN. This crucial post is currently held by Union Revenue Secretary Hasmukh Adhia (IAS:1981:GJ).

While a search committee constituted for finding a new GST Chairman may give its recommendation soon, Indianmandarins has reliably learnt that two retired officers Shaktikanta Das (Retd IAS:1981:TN) and Prasenjit Mukherjee (IA&AS:1980) are in the race.

The role of Chairman is crucial in handling the ‘complex’ GST regime. GST Network (GSTN) is the IT backbone and portal for real-time taxpayer registration, migration and tax return filing under GST which is equipped to handle 2.6 billion transactions every month from 87 lakh GST tax payers. It can scale up to handle double the volume (5.2 billion transactions a month) and up to 13 million tax payers, without any change.

The tenure of Chairman is three years or until the 65 years of age.


Leave a Reply